Welcome to the world of Quiet Marauder. Where some see boundaries or confines, Quiet Marauder see an idea worth pursuing. Currently embroiled in a Guinness World Record application for longest debut LP in recorded popular music history, Men charts the path of the male identity through love, rejection, murderous fantasy, discontent, crisis, intoxication, perversion and, ultimately, resolution.

Powered by the dual songwriting engine room of Simon M. Read and Jonathan Day, Quiet Marauder are a loose collective of musicians all contributing flourishes of cornet, melodica, guitar, piano and strings. For the purposes of Men, however, 26 artists from as far afield as Austria to as near as their hometown of Cardiff were recruited. These include the likes of The School, Winter Villains, Little Arrow, Bensh, John Mouse, Hail! The Planes, Ivan Moult, Laurence Made Me Cry, Spencer McGarry, Rory & NedTotem Terrors, Houdini Dax, Jemma Roper, My Name Is Ian, Francesca’s Word Salad, The Lovely Wars and many, many more.

The end result is an anti-folk, pop odyssey that can either be dipped into or out of, or swallowed in one, long ingestion (with breaks, naturally). Conjuring ghostly recollections of The Bonzo Dog Doo Dah Band, Syd Barrett, The Magnetic Fields and The Fugs, Men is one of the most unique releases to have emerged from Wales or, indeed, the United Kingdom in some time.

Released on Bubblewrap Records on on January 27th 2014 in England, Men will be available for download from all good retailers and a bespoke limited edition run from the online Bubblewrap Store, Spiller’s Records, Diverse Music and other independent stores across the UK. As well as several Welsh launch shows, Quiet Marauder will launch Men at a series of yet to be announced English launch events.


AuthorSteve Muscutt