‘Youthful Dreams of an Old Empire’ is thestunning debut EPfrom Montrealbased sextet Your Favorite Enemies. The EP showcases their blend of alternative, shoegazer, new prog and brooding noise rock, in places reminiscent of The Raveonettes and Crocodiles, and lyrically influenced by bands like The Clash, The Ramones and The Cure. 

Track listing:

1- A View From Within

2- Empire of Sorrows

3- Satsuki Yami

The band are vocalist Alex Foster, Jeff Beaulieu (guitar), Sef (guitar), Ben Lemelin (bass), Miss Isabel (vocals and keyboard) and Charles “Moose” Allicy (drums). They are fierce human rights advocates who remain dedicated to their old school DIY ethos on which they established the foundations of the band. This includes starting their own label Hopeful Tragedy Records and turning a Catholic Church into their own recording studio where they record all of their own material, including ‘Youthful Dreams of an Old Empire.’

Combining powerful riffs and strong harmonies with frontman Alex Foster’s introspective lyrics, Your Favorite Enemies’ unique fusion of sonic textures show a distinctive social conscience and a symbolist approach. 


AuthorSteve Muscutt